Sunday, July 22, 2012

The Hunger Games Trilogy

Suzanne Collins

Book 1 -The Hunger Games
Book 2 - Catching Fire
Book 3 - Mockingjay

Summary - The Sci-Fi, Romance trilogy takes place in a post apocalyptic future America. Essentially a capital city rules twelve districts. The capital is ruthless and makes two children from each district fight to death each year to pay back the districts for a past revolt.

Overall - I recommend the series if you like Young Adult, fantasy/sci-fi type books even though I didn't love it. Although the series had a lot of potential, it fell short in the end.

Creativity - The series is creative. Collins creates a future world with a new government structure and new fashions that feel real. She adds some interesting touches in like mutated animals called Muttations. A few examples are the Jabberjays, who can repeat human speech and the Tracker Jackers, whose stings cause hallucinations.

Characters - The characters are pretty well developed, but I didn't like them very much. At times I really liked the main character Katniss Everdeen, especially when she was being tough. At other times Katniss annoyed me with her sheer stupidity. A few other characters were well developed and showed nice character flaws like Haymitch Abernathy the alcoholic.

Plot - The plot starts out slow in the first book and is really quite basic. The plot in the second book picks up and becomes much more exiting. I almost wish that she only wrote the second book. I didn't like the direction in which the third book went. It had a much different feel than the first two books.

Romance - The romance shows potential for the first two books, but then complete falls flat during the third book. It almost seemed like an after thought at the end of the third book. 

Writing Style - The writing style in the first book is somewhat basic and doesn't show enough rather than tell. The styles of the second and third books are much improved. Her sentence structures flow better and she shows much more.

Rating - Trilogy - 4 stars
             The Hunger Games - 3.5 stars
             Catching Fire - 4.5 stars
             Mockingjay - 3 stars